discover › Villages
Facing Avignon and its beautiful bridge, the town of Villeneuve lez Avignon, with its historical treasures and outstanding location, provides the ideal base for stays in Provence and Languedoc. The roots of Villeneuve lez Avignon go back to the village of Saint-André which grew up around Saint-André Abbey (10th century) built atop Mont Andaon.
King Philip the Fair decided to use Saint-André as a key base for the Kingdom of France, and ordered the construction of a fortress to control the access to the Pont d'Avignon. The Avignon Bridge, known as the Pont Saint-Bénezet, provided the passage way between the Kingdom of France and the Empire. Between 1293 and 1307 a citadel went up, today all that remains is the dungeon, called Tour Philippe le Bel.
In March 1293, King Philip the Fair created the town christened Villeneuve Saint-André which later became Villeneuve lez Avignon.
During the time of the papacy in Avignon (1316-1378), many Popes, Cardinals and other prelates from the pontifical court built convents, churches and palaces (known as "Livrées") in Villeneuve lez Avignon.
In 1333, Cardinal Arnaud de Via founded the Notre-Dame Collegiate church. In 1356, Cardinal Etienne Aubert, who became Pope under the name of Pope Innocent VI, founded the Charterhouse monastery : the Chartreuse du Val de Bénédiction.